About the TSL

The Tasmanian State League, is Tasmania’s premier whole-of-state AFL competition showcasing the best players, programs and development opportunities. The TSL is owned and administered by AFL Tasmania, which grants licences to clubs to participate in the competition based on clubs meeting a raft of strategic objectives, demonstrating sound corporate governance and financial capacity, brand and cultural alignment.

The licences enable clubs to compete in the Tasmanian State League Senior and Development League competitions, providing a platform to showcase top young players and foster their development. There are seven clubs competing in the TSL across Tasmania; each club has a development zone to identify and foster talented players in order to challenge each individual to be the best they can be.


Tasmanian State Development League
The second tier of the Tasmanian State League competition is the Development League. This competition provides a good opportunity for the best young players to be involved with the best senior players and to play under the same Rules and Regulations.


Leave a Reply