Fixture released for bumper final TSL season

The 2024 Tasmanian State League fixture has been released, with traditional Good Friday matchups to kick-off an exciting year of footy.

The fixture will again be made up of 21 rounds, with all seven teams playing each other three times before a four-team, three-week finals series.

All three Round One games will again be played on Good Friday, March 29, with traditional arch-rivals Launceston and North Launceston squaring off at Windsor Park while Southern derbies will see Lauderdale host Clarence and Kingborough play North Hobart.  A 2023 Grand Final rematch will be played in Round 6 as Kingborough will look to defend their Premiership title in 2024. In encouraging news, Glenorchy has put together a strong off-season and is intent on fielding both a Senior and Development League side in 2024, after fielding one team last year. North Hobart will be on a quest to take the next step in season 2024, while Clarence, under coach Peter Ryan, are again expected to deliver a fast-paced, attacking style and feature at the business end.  The Roos made headlines over the off-season with Tasmanian football Hall of Famer and former AFL star Jack Riewoldt confirming he will play one game for his former club. Clarence’s ‘Jack’ game is still being confirmed and will be one to circle on the footy calendar once finalised. Excitement is also building at Lauderdale with the Southern club welcoming back a host of former sons including two highly credentialed AFL players in journeyman Andrew Phillips and former Brisbane and Carlton star Mitch Robinson.  North Launceston is expected to field a young side this season while looking to go one better after last year’s Grand Final loss.  Like its cross-town rival, Launceston looks set to field a new-look younger side in 2024 while remaining competitive and in the hunt.Competition Byes will be held between Rounds 12 and 13, and between Rounds 15 and 16 when TAS Rep games take place.The 2024 final TSL season will be followed by a restructure of Tasmanian community football from 2025 with Premier League divisions established in the state’s South, North and North West. This is in line with AFL Tasmania’s commitment to delivering strong football pathways in all three regions.It was announced last year that Brighton Football Club will join the five Southern TSL clubs (Clarence, Glenorchy, Kingborough, Lauderdale and North Hobart) to form a six-team Southern Premier League for Men and Women.A process is ongoing around the makeup of the Northern Premier League to determine the participating clubs.DOWNLOAD FULL FIXTURE HERE Quotes attributable to AFL Tasmania Community Football Manager Tom Barwick: “The announcement of the 2024 TSL fixture ramps up the excitement for the upcoming season which will be on us before we know it. “We are excited that Glenorchy are tracking strongly off the back of a difficult 2023 and are intending to field both Development League and TSL teams in 2024. This is a credit to Josh Arnold and those involved at the Magpies that have worked hard and will continue to work hard on their rebuild. “We anticipate a competitive final TSL season with some hype building around some former AFL talent gracing the league, including a very exciting guest appearance from Richmond Great, Jack Riewoldt.”