‘Unicorn’ Siggins claims second Cripps Player of the Year Award

Lauderdale’s Sam Siggins has claimed his second Cripps Player of the Year Award, producing another stellar season to win his second media-voted Player of the Year gong in as many seasons.

Siggins, described by Tasmanian state men’s coach Maverick Weller as a ‘unicorn’ mid-season, polled votes in 11 matches headlined by six three-vote performances.

The former Adelaide Crows listed utility finished the season in barnstorming fashion, polling maximum votes in each of his last three games to finish three votes clear of North Launceston co-captain Ben Simpson.

Siggins produced some eye-watering stat-lines over the 2023 season, averaging 172 Premier Data Ranking Points, 34 disposals, 22 contested possessions, 14 clearances, 6 inside 50s, 1.5 goals and 20 hit outs per match.

The Cripps Player of the Year Award is a prestigious honour that has been won by some of the finest footballers to rise through the TSL.

The votes are determined by Tasmania’s media, who vote 3, 2 and 1 on every TSL game to ultimately decide the TSL’s Cripps Player of the Year.

Siggins takes home a Cripps Appliance Pack, as well as $1000.

AFL Tasmania would like to thank and acknowledge the ongoing support Cripps provides the Tasmanian State League competition and this award.

Cripps Player of the Year votes – Round 21

Launceston v Glenorchy

3: Jake Hinds (Launceston)

2: Liam Jones (Launceston)

1: Jamieson House (Launceston)

Kingborough v Clarence

3: Sam Green (Clarence)

2: James Webb (Kingborough)

1: Baxter Norton (Clarence)

North Launceston v North Hobart

3: Jack Avent (North Launceston)

2: Ben Simpson (North Launceston)

1: Harry McLeod (North Hobart)

Cripps Player of the Year – Final Leaderboard
Player Club Votes
Sam Siggins Lauderdale 24
Ben Simpson North Launceston 21
Jack Tomkinson Kingborough 17
Lachie Clifford Kingborough 14
Alex Lee North Launceston 14
Baxter Norton Clarence 14
Brad Cox-Goodyer North Launceston 12
Brodie Palfreyman Launceston 12
Jake Hinds Launceston 11
Sam Green Clarence 10
Kieran Lovell Kingborough 9
Jack McCulloch North Hobart 9
Angus Norton North Hobart 9
Elijah Reardon Kingborough 9
Jack Avent North Launceston 8


Cripps Player of the Year – Previous Winners
Year Player
2009 Jeromey Webberley (Clarence)
2010 Scott Stephens (Launceston)
2011 Cameron Thurley (Clarence)
2012 Luke Shackleton (Burnie)
2013 Mitch Thorp (South Launceston)
2014 Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)
2015 Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)
2016 Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)
2017 Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)
2018 Daniel Joseph (Glenorchy)

Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

2019 Brad Cox-Goodyer (North Launceston)
2020 Jobi Harper (Launceston)
2021 Jay Blackberry (Launceston)
2022 Sam Siggins (Lauderdale)