Blues go back-to-back-to-back

By Joseph Vasquez

For the third-consecutive season, the Launceston Football Club are the champions of the Tasmanian State League after beating the Tigers soundly at UTAS Stadium.

The Blues got off to a hot start in wet conditions at UTAS, kicking 4.1 to one Kingborough behind in the opening quarter. Launceston extended their lead in the second term from four goals at quarter-time to 38 points at the half after kicking another 3.4 to 1.2.

Launceston continued their dominance into the next half, furthering their lead to 53 points at the final break. Ultimately, it was a one-sided affair in the Blues’ favour, who in the end were victorious 16.14.110 to 5.8.38.

Launceston star Fletcher Seymour capped off his brilliant 2022 campaign by winning the Darrel Baldock Medal as best-on-ground in the Grand Final. Additionally, Jake Hinds (four goals), Dylan Riley (four goals), and Brodie Palfreyman (three goals) were excellent in navy blue.

Despite a tough defeat on the big stage, Matthew Richardson Medallist Jordan Lane was strong with three of Kingborough’s five majors, and stars such as Lachlan Clifford, Ben Donnelly, and Zach Adams played with pride for the Tigers.

With a consecutive trio of flags in 2020, 2021, and 2022, Launceston still remain the team to beat in the TSL.