Umpires appointed for 2022 TSL Grand Final

TSL Grand Final Day is almost here, and like the players and coaches, months of hard work will come to fruition for the state’s best umpires.  

The TSL Grand Final will be officiated by field umpires Nathan Geason (sixth TSL Grand Final), Tomas McIntee (second TSL Grand Final) and Brad Percey (debut), with Ben Bannister named emergency.  

Ollie Bennett (fifth TSL GF), Lucas Chamberlain (sixth TSL GF), Caleb Devine (second TSL GF) and Dominic Schiliro (second TSL GF) will run the boundary, with Will Robertson (debut) and Bryce Guy (fifth TSL GF) to be in the goals, with Xanthea McCarthy the emergency.  

Percey and Robertson will be making their TSL Grand Final debut, while the TSL Development League will see field umpire Declan Gale, boundary umpires Liam Geason, Brendon Green and Riley Lee-Heath and goal umpires Kitean Aitken and Max Genders make their Development League Grand Final debut.  


AFL Tasmania Umpiring Manager Matt Phillips said, “Every umpire selected to officiate on Grand Final Day should be proud of the honour”. 

“This achievement is the result of months and years of hard work and every umpire selected is well and truly up to the task. This is an exciting opportunity for those making their debut, and with a number of umpires making their Grand Final debut, the future is bright for umpiring in the state”.  

“The TSL Umpire Coaches and Match Day Observers play an integral role in developing and upskilling our umpires so they can be at their very best”.  

“The tireless efforts of our regional associations cannot be understated. The impact and influence of the TFUA, NTFUA and NWUA and their volunteers are crucial in the strength of umpiring in the state and they have all played a crucial role in developing these umpires to officiate on TSL Grand Final Day.” 


TSL Grand Final 

FIELD: Nathan Geason, Tomas McIntee, Brad Percey, Emg: Ben Bannister 

BOUNDARY: Ollie Bennett, Lucas Chamberlain, Caleb Devine, Dominic Schiliro 

GOALS: Will Robertson, Bryce Guy Emg: Xanthea McCarthy 


Development League 

FIELD: Declan Gale, Nick Butler, Adrian Cornish, Emg: Caleb Berechree  

BOUNDARY: Liam Geason, Brendon Green, Riley Lee-Heath, Jack Marsh    

GOALS: Kitean Aitken and Max Genders, Emg: Thomas Wilson  



FIELD: Ben Paine, Chris Bass, Cooper Meeking  

BOUNDARY: Noah Jackson, Nick Sypkes    

GOALS: Jett Benson, Jordan Irwin 


TSL Grand Final Day Schedule – UTAS Stadium

STJFL Under 18s


Clarence v Launceston


9:30am – Sat 17 Sept


Development League


Clarence v Launceston


12:00pm – Sat 17 Sept

TSL Launceston v Kingborough 3:00pm – Sat 17 Sept


All three matches will be live streamed, with the senior TSL Grand Final to be streamed live and free via and the AFL Live Official App.

The Development League Grand Final will be live streamed on the AFL Tasmania YouTube channel, while the STJFL U18s decider will be live streamed via Duff TV

Fans can download the AFL Live Official App on the App Store or Google Play Store.

Pre-sale tickets are now available online, with tickets also available at the gate. Adults $15, Concession $10, U16 $2.