Sam Siggins wins 2022 Alastair Lynch Medal

Photo: Solstice Digital

Lauderdale star Sam Siggins has solidified his place as one of the state’s finest footballers of the modern era, claiming his second Alastair Lynch Medal as the Tasmanian State League’s best and fairest player.

Siggins was one of several players recognised at Saturday’s Alastair Lynch Medal and State League Awards Night, with the 2022 Rodney Eade Medal, Matthew Richardson Medal, Peter Hudson Medal, TSL Development League Leading Goalkicker Award and TSL Life Memberships also being presented.



Sam Siggins’ sensational season has been recognised, claiming the 2022 Alastair Lynch Medal as the TSL’s best and fairest player.

Siggins finished with 30 votes, four votes clear of Kingborough ball magnet Kieran Lovell and Launceston prime mover Brodie Palfreyman to add to his glittering football resume, with this 2022 crown adding to his 2020 Lynch Medal and 2022 Cripps Player of the Year Award.

Siggins didn’t poll a vote until round six but enjoyed a barnstorming finish that caught umpire eyes, polling votes in 11 matches, including nine maximum best-on-ground performances.

Siggins’ late run saw him overrun Kieran Lovell, who led the count for much of the night. Launceston’s Brodie Palfreyman was also a standout, polling maximum votes in each of the opening three rounds.

Seasoned vote-getters Fletcher Seymour and Brad Cox-Goodyer were again at the pointy end of the count, while versatile Clarence ruckman Sam Green enjoyed a breakout year to finish sixth overall with 16 votes.

Lynch Medal Final Leaderboard

Sam Siggins (Lauderdale) – 30

Kieran Lovell (Kingborough) – 26

Brodie Palfreyman (Launceston) – 26

Fletcher Seymour (Launceston) – 18

Brad Cox-Goodyer (North Launceston) – 17

Sam Green (Clarence) – 16

Eddie Cole (Kingborough) – 15

Jobi Harper (Launceston) – 12

Lachlan Clifford (Kingborough) – 11

Jake Hinds* (Launceston) – 11

Baxter Norton (Clarence) – 11

Colin Garland (Clarence) – 9



Launceston’s Sam Foley has claimed the 2022 Rodney Eade Medal, polling 21 votes to finish six votes clear of teammate Liam Canny.

The Eade Medal, like the Lynch, is voted on by the umpires, and is awarded to the best and fairest player in the Development League.

Having played just nine Development League games, in between appearances for Launceston’s senior side, Foley made the most of his opportunities polling maximum votes on seven occasions.

Foley’s skills and decision making helped drive the Blues towards the minor premiership and no doubt helped him catch the eye of the league’s umpires.

Foley has established himself as a reliable option in front of goal, scoring majors in seven of his 2022 Development League games, including four goals against the Tigers in round three. Foley played ten games for Launceston’s senior side, notching up multiple goals on three occasions, including three at Blundstone Arena in round 12.

Eade Medal Final Leaderboard

Samuel Foley (Launceston) – 21

Liam Canny (Launceston) – 15

Oscar Harper (North Launceston) – 13

Tony Aganas (Launceston) – 11

Jonty Barwick (North Hobart) – 9

Ryan Borsboom (Clarence) – 9

Fergus Kenny (Lauderdale) – 9

Joe Harrison (Kingborough) – 8

Wade Wall (Clarence) – 8

Jordan Green (Glenorchy) – 7

Flynn Marshall (Clarence) – 7

Matthew Yates (North Hobart) – 7



After 10 Development League games at Kingborough in 2019 and a stint in the SFL with Cygnet, Jordan Lane made his return to Tigerland in 2022 and stepped up to TSL level in style, rewarded with the 2022 Mathew Richardson Medal.

Lane’s breakout year saw him finish fifth in the Hudson Medal race, recording 43 goals from 18 games. Lane also finished the year averaging 13 disposals, eight marks (four contested) and 2.5 goals per game.

Lane’s season highlight without a doubt came in round 13, when he kicked four goals, including the match winner after the siren, against North Launceston at UTAS Stadium – an all-time great moment for the Kingborough Tigers which went viral on social media.

Tigers coach Trent Baumuler shared his thoughts on Lane’s return and the awarding of the Richardson Medal.

“He fitted back in seamlessly, he’s a great presence, has good energy, and when he’s up and going he’s a very dangerous player.

“It’s a testament to the work that he’s done since he’s come back, he completed his program and didn’t miss any sessions”

“His ability to come in, take a good defender and play his role, has really improved the offensive side of our game. He’s an important part of our structure, and we’re really looking forward to what he can do in the finals series.”

The Richardson Medal is decided upon by TSL Management following the conclusion of the home and away season.

Criteria to be eligible for the Rookie of the Year medal heading into the season:

· Played less than 20 Senior Games of TSL Football

· Be Under 23 years age

· Have had no more than 2 years on a Senior List



TSL Life Membership was awarded to the following individuals, with Cornish, Williams and Cox-Goodyer all reaching the 200 senior game milestone, and Brady being recognised for his longevity as North Launceston FC President.

· Adrian Cornish – Umpire (TFUA)

· Hugh Williams – Player (North Hobart)

· Brad Cox-Goodyer – Player / Coach (North Launceston)

· Thane Brady – Administrator (North Launceston)



Colin Garland has claimed his first Hudson Medal, kicking 59 goals to edge out Launceston sharpshooter Jake Hinds by one.

Garland enjoyed a strong start to 2022, kicking 10 goals over the first three rounds of the season. After six rounds, Garland had notched up 19 majors and was sitting second on the goalkicking tally behind Jake Hinds. Garland remained consistent throughout the rest of the season and some big bags late in the season secured him the award.

Kept goalless just once in 2022, Garland particularly impressed with his 10 goal-haul against North Hobart in round 18 and his competition-record 13-goal effort in round 20 against Glenorchy.

2022 Hudson Medal Final Leaderboard

Colin Garland (Clarence) – 59

Jake Hinds (Launceston) – 58

Jackson Thurlow (Launceston) – 47

Sam Siggins (Lauderdale) – 45

Jordan Lane (Kingborough) – 43



Launceston Blue Jett Maloney has claimed his first leading goalkicker award in his third Development League season, with his 41-goal campaign leaving him five majors ahead of fellow Blue and 2021 Development League leading goalkicker Cooper Warren.

Like Garland, Maloney’s season got off to a hot start, racking up 11 goals from his first two games. He recorded his largest haul in the final round of the home and away season with seven at North Hobart Oval.

2022 Development League Leading Goalkicker Final Leaderboard

Jett Maloney (Launceston) – 40

Cooper Warren (Launceston) – 35

Aidan O’Connor (Launceston) – 25

Robert Zeeman (Kingborough) – 23

Connor McGee (Clarence) – 22