Returning stars headline round 14 inclusions

Fresh from a competition week off, round 14 is on the horizon, with some big names set to return. 

Clarence has received a big boost ahead of its crucial clash with Kingborough at Blundstone Arena, with former ‘Roo and Tasmania Devil Baker Smith returning to the TSL after a sting with Williamstown in the VFL.

Smith will slot into the Roos’ defensive unit, with Devils duo Cam Owen and Liam Howard also returning. Kingborough will also have a Devil return, with defender Will Clifford set to don the yellow and black once again.


North Launceston has received some star power ahead of its battle with Lauderdale at UTAS Stadium. Co-captain Ben Simpson and 2021 Richardson Medalist Michael Stingel are both back in a big boost to the side’s midfield. Devils group Heath Ollington, Oscar Van Dam all Ethan Hubbard also return, as will Jack Nicholls. Forward pair Nathan Pearce and Will Manshanden headline the outs.

Lauderdale will debut exciting young prospect Flynn Read, with experienced duo Allen Christensen and Rhys Sutton returning alongside young Ned Shaw. Haydn Smith will miss through suspension, with fellow big man Tyler Martin to miss through injury. Jayden Magro and Tom Ratcliffe are also out of the side.


Launceston is poised to welcome a bevy of stars back into its lineup for its trip to KGV, with skipper Jobi Harper, Baldock Medalist Joe Groenewegen and TSL game record holder Jay Blackberry among the inclusions. Blackberry will line up in his 100th match for the Blues, with this his first game back after an eight-week broken jaw-enforced lay-off. Star forward Jake Hinds also returns from suspension, as will in-form Devils and Allies gun Colby McKercher and highly talented Devil Tom Beaumont, who will be making his senior TSL debut.

The Blues will be without Tiernan McCormack, Sam Cowley, James Leake and Brayden Fellows due to school football commitments, while Jake Smith (hamstring) and Josiah Burling also make way.

The Magpies have some big inclusions of their own, with Devils duo Braidy Simpson and Luke Nicholson headlining the changes. Club stalwarts John Geard and Richie Dilger will miss, as will young tall Matthew McInnes.


TSL Seniors – Glenorchy v Launceston
Saturday 2 July, 2022, 12pm, KGV

B: C. Meredith, I. Manson, B. Simpson
HB: A. Roberts, J. Arnold, D. Browning
C: K. Dean, J Whitford, N. Blowfield
HF: B. Waight, T. McGann, W Brohm
F: S. Hall, R. Oakley, M. Joseph
R: L. Nicholson, B Kamaric, C. Thompson
Int: B. Lewis, B. Jenkins, J Meredith, L Roach
Emg: R. Dilger, J. West, J. Green, L. Matcham

Ins: B. Simpson, K. Dean, W. Brohm, S. Hall, L. Nicholson, J. Meredith
Outs: J. Webster, R. Dilger, J. Geard, M. McInnes, J. Males, J. Green

B: J. Hinds, J. House, J. Wooley
HB: J. Tuthill, A. Wright, J. Boyd
C: C. Brown, J. Harper, B. Gillow
HF: B. Taylor, Z. Morris, J. Blackberry
F: M. Musicka, J. Thurlow, J. Hinds
R: J. Groenewegan, F. Seymour, C. Mckercher
Int: B. Palfreyman, R. Tyrrell, S. Foley, T. Beaumont
Emg: M. Hodge, D. Riley, J. Burling, J. Smith

Ins: J. Hinds, C. Mckercher, J. Blackberry, J. Harper, J. Groenewegen, T. Beaumont
Outs: B. Fellows, S. Cowley, T. McCormack, J. Smith, J. Leake, J. Burling

Umpire appointments:

SENIOR FIELD: Hamish Johnston, Mark Tuckett, Nic Merritt-Smith
SENIOR BOUNDARY: Liam Geason, Riley Lee-Heath, Andrew Roberts
SENIOR GOAL: Thomas Wilson, Max Genders
DEV. FIELD: Tim Bessell, Luke Bricknell
DEV. BOUNDARY: Jacob Bevis, Oscar Blackburn, Lucas Skelly
DEV. GOAL, Dylan Scott, Michael White


TSL Seniors – Clarence v Kingborough
Saturday 2 July, 2022, 2pm, Blundstone Arena

B: K. Wylie, L. Swinton, H. Fisher
HB: O. Paprotny, B. Smith, J. Bealey
C: L. Borsboom, J. Harper, K. Howlett
HF: J. Holmes, C. Garland, O. Preshaw
F: C. Owen, K. Ryan, J. Barwick
R: S. Green, B. Norton, J. Preshaw
Int: R. Borsboom, B. Hay, L. Howard, H. Burgess
Emg: W. Wall, J. Tremayne, K. Saward, C. Lovell

Ins: B.Smith, L. Howard, C. Owen
Outs: J. Tremayne, K. Saward, W.Wall

B: L. Gadomski, B. Donnelly, W. Clifford
HB: E. Reardon, C. Sawdy, B. Rees
C: Z. Adams, L. Clifford, S. Duigan
HF: C. Salter, J. Lane, G. O’Neill
F: L. Graham, T. Carter, M. Gardner
R: J. Tomkinson, E. Cole, K. Lovell
Int: J. Parker, E. Golding, R. Ashlin, N. Clifford
Emg: M. Collidge, L. Griggs, J. Brouwer, J. Keogh

Ins: W. Clifford
Outs: M. Collidge

Umpire appointments:

SENIOR FIELD: Tomas McIntee, Ben Bannister, Nick Butler
SENIOR BOUNDARY: Lucas Chamberlain, Jacob Mitchell, Curtis Read
SENIOR GOAL: Brayden White, Kitean Aitken
DEV. FIELD: Ben Lehner, Mathew Scott, Damon Marsh
DEV. BOUNDARY: Emily Best, Brendon Green
DEV. GOAL: Ben Williams, Mark Aitken


TSL Seniors – North Launceston v Lauderdale

Saturday 2 July, 2022, 2pm, UTAS Stadium

North Launceston:
B: L. Mitchell, C. Nankervis, D. Chugg
HB: F. Bennett, E. Hubbard, M. Stingel
C: O. Vandam, B. Cox- Goodyer, H. Bayles
HF: W. Harper, T. Bennett, B. Sulzberger
F: J. Rickard, T. Ives, J. Avent
R: A. Lee, B. Simpson, H. Ollington
Int: J. Aherne, O. Mansell, I. Newett, J. Nicholls
Emg: H. Farrelly, H. Griffiths, J. Kerr, B. Mitchell

Ins: H. Ollington, B. Simpson, M. Stingel, E. Hubbard, O. Vandam, J. Nicholls
Outs: N. Pearce, C. Leeflang, J. Kerr, C. Skipper, W. Manshanden, H. Farrelly

B: J.Williams, O.Shaw, N.Hooker
HB: E.Stanley, W.Poland J.McGuinness
C: R.Sutton, N.Franklin L.Paton
HF: F.Kenny, H.Richmond A.Christensen
F: F.Read, M.Blackburn S.Tilley
R: S.Siggins, L.Marlin B.Walsh
Int. F.Rackett, N.Shaw, B.Steinbauer, W.Broomhall
Emg: T.Sookee, T.Ratcliffe, C.Laoumtzis, J.Sawford

IN: R.Sutton, A.Christensen, N.Shaw, F.Read
OUT: H.Smith, T.Martin, T.Ratcliffe, J.Magro

Umpire appointments:

SENIOR FIELD: Nathan Geason, Adrian Cornish, Caleb Berechree
SENIOR BOUNDARY: Ollie Bennett, David Luttrell, Dom Schiliro
SENIOR GOAL: Josiah Gates, Xanthea McCarthy
DEV. FIELD: Michael Goodyer, Matt Phillips, Riley Stevenson
DEV. BOUNDARY: Quinn Elliott, Will Jago, Kaiden Chung
DEV. GOAL: Fletcher Ryan, Andrew Ikin