Eade Medal shared following dramatic finish

The 2021 Rodney Eade Medal, presented to the TSL Development League’s Best and Fairest player, has sensationally finished in a three-way tie following a dramatic final round.

Glenorchy’s Joshua Whitford, Launceston’s Tom McShane and North Launceston’s Jack Mazengarb have all finished on 14 votes – with McShane and Mazengarb both polling maximum votes in the final round to join Whitford on top of the leaderboard.

Whitford earned 14 votes across the first 12 rounds, before spending the back half of the year in the senior side.

This is the second time the Eade Medal has been shared, following Michael Blackburn and Haydn Smith in 2013.

Click here for all the votes

 2021 Rodney Eade Medal leaderboard

Name Club Votes
Joshua Whitford Glenorchy 14
Tom McShane Launceston 14
Jack Mazengarb North Launceston 14
Nathan Hardy North Hobart 13
Patrick Kelly Tigers 12
Colby Whitelaw Clarence 10
Hamish Leedham Launceston 10
Wade Wall Clarence 9
Tony Aganas Launceston 9
Cooper Warren Launceston 9


The Rodney Eade Medal is awarded to the Best & Fairest player in the Tasmanian State League’s Development League competition.

How the Rodney Eade Medal is Awarded

After each match, the three field umpires award a 3, 2 and 1 point vote to the players they regarded the best, second best and third best on ground respectively. A player becomes ineligible for the Medal if he is suspended for a reportable offence during the season.

The votes are tallied at the end of the home and away rounds to determine the year’s Alastair Lynch Medallist.

Previous winners:

Year Winner Club
2009 James Lovell Burnie
2010 Patrick Riley North Hobart
2011 Tom Arnold North Hobart
2012 Joe Edwards Lauderdale
2013 Michael Blackburn and Haydn Smith Clarence and Lauderdale
2014 Mitchell Swan Clarence
2015 Brendan Hay Clarence
2016 Paul Hudson Lauderdale
2017 Cameron Downie Launceston
2018 Anthony Liberatore Launceston
2019 Edward Burrows-Cheng North Launceston
2020 Hamish Leedham Launceston