Cox-Goodyer claims 2021 Alastair Lynch Medal

North Launceston playing-coach Brad Cox-Goodyer has added another honour to his already decorated footballing resume, claiming his second Alastair Lynch Medal as the Tasmanian State League’s Best and Fairest player.

Cox-Goodyer, who won the award in 2017, polled maximum votes in seven rounds, with two other one-vote performances to finish four votes clear of Kingborough ball magnet Will Campbell (19).

Launceston stalwart Jay Blackberry, who won the Cripps Player of the Year award, and ineligible Roo Ethan Jackson were next best with 16 votes each, two ahead of Tiger Eddie Cole (14).

2021 was Cox-Goodyer’s first season as playing-coach, with his side set to play in an eighth consecutive TSL Grand Final this Sunday at UTAS Stadium.

Click here for all the votes

2021 Alastair Lynch Medal leaderboard


Name Club Votes
Bradley Cox-Goodyer North Launceston 23
William Campbell Tigers 19
Ethan Jackson* Clarence 16
Jay Blackberry Launceston 16
Edward Cole Tigers 14
Samuel Siggins Lauderdale 12
Jake Hinds* Launceston 12
Michael Musicka Launceston 12
Jay Foon North Launceston 11
Lachlan Clifford Tigers 11
Fletcher Seymour Launceston 10
Dylan Riley Launceston 10


Background to the Alastair Lynch Medal

The Alastair Lynch Medal (originally known as the Tassie Medal and changed at the start of the 2014 Season) is awarded to the Best & Fairest player in the Tasmanian State League and has been awarded since the league began in 2009.


How The Alastair Lynch Medal is Awarded

After each match, the three field umpires award a 3, 2 and 1 point vote to the players they regarded the best, second best and third best on ground respectively. A player becomes ineligible for the Medal if he is suspended for a reportable offence during the season.

The votes are tallied at the end of the home and away rounds to determine the year’s Alastair Lynch Medallist.


Previous winners:

Year Winner Club Votes
2009 Kurt Heazlewood Devonport 23 votes
2010 Brett Geappen Clarence 18 votes
2011 Tim Bristow Launceston 28 votes
2012 Jaye Bowden Glenorchy 21 votes
2013 Mitch Thorp South Launceston 21 votes
2014 Daniel Roozendaal North Launceston 24 votes
2015 Jaye Bowden Glenorchy 33 votes
2016 Jaye Bowden Glenorchy 33 votes
2017 Brad Cox-Goodyer North Launceston 27 votes
2018 Josh Ponting North Launceston 23 votes
2019 Josh Ponting North Launceston 23 votes
2020 Sam Siggins Lauderdale 14 votes