Stingel claims 2021 Matthew Richardson Medal

North Launceston’s Michael Stingel has been rewarded for his outstanding debut TSL season, winning the Matthew Richardson Medal as the competition’s Rookie of the Year.

Stingel has had an immediate impact in the TSL at just 18, averaging 17.6 disposals, 3.5 marks and four tackles per game.

Standout performances included a 29-disposal, seven-mark effort against Clarence in round 10 and a 27-disposal, 11 pressure-act effort against Kingborough in round 20.

How The Matthew Richardson Medal is Awarded

At the conclusion of the Home and Away season, TSL management sit down and decide the winner of the Matthew Richardson medal.


Criteria to be eligible for the Rookie of the Year medal:

  • Played less than 20 Senior Games of TSL Football
  • Be Under 23 years age
  • Have no more than 2 years on a Senior List


Previous Matthew Richardson Medallists:

2020 Oliver Davis Clarence
2019 Will Poland KIngborough Tigers
2018 Sherrin Egger North Launceston
2017 James Holmes Clarence
2016 Toutai Havea Lauderdale
2015 Jordon Arnold Glenorchy
2014 Ben Halton Lauderdale
2013 Thane Bardenhagen South Launceston
2012 Aaron McNab Devonport
2011 Kaine Waller Lauderdale
2010 Trent Standen Clarence