TSL and TSLW confirmed

AFL Tasmania has officially announced today that the Tasmanian State League (TSL) and the Tasmanian State League Women’s (TSLW) will play seasons in 2020.

AFL Tasmania and all seven TSL clubs have agreed to a financially effective model to deliver a season for the TSL, TSLW and Development League competitions.

It is intended, subject to government approval that the 2020 TSL and TSLW seasons will commence from July 18, 2020 and run until October 18, 2020 at the latest.

The fixture will be developed in detail over the coming weeks with aims for clubs to play each other twice in the Senior TSL home and away season before a two-week finals series. All plans and fixturing for TSL and TSLW are yet to be finalised and are strictly subject to State Government and Public Health advice.

Players from all seven clubs will not be receiving player payments and umpires will be performing duties on reduced payments in order for a season to take place.

AFL Tasmania CEO Trisha Squires said it was exciting to have the season confirmed for 2020.

“The impact of COVID-19 has been unprecedented on our industry and it is nice to have some good news to share. Through a lot of hard work and sacrifice from all involved within the TSL, we are now in a position to confirm a 2020 season will take place for the state’s premier men’s and women’s competitions.

“It is going to look different to regular seasons and we may see some innovation to see the season played but I think everyone is just excited to play now.”

AFL Tasmania will release further details on the 2020 TSL and TSLW seasons in the coming weeks.