Umpires announced for #BUPATSL Grand Final Day

It’s not just the players and coaches who are itching to take to the field on Bupa TSL Grand Final Day, with the umpiring panel for the big day now confirmed.

There is an exciting blend of fresh and familiar faces for the Bupa TSL decider between North Launceston and Lauderdale, with North West Coast field umpire Matt Clarke set to lead the group in his seventh Grand Final.

Clarke will be joined by Hobart-based duo Nathan Geason and Nick Butler, with Joel Harris named as the emergency.

“To be selected in a State League Senior Grand Final is a fantastic achievement and a great credit to everyone officiating on the day,” State Umpire Coach Cameron Lee said on Tuesday.

“The umpires chosen have worked really hard to earn their spot and decisions at this time of year are never easy.

“Our role is to be strong decision makers and match managers, and we believe we have achieved that with our selections,” Lee said.

Clarke has been a model of consistency for a long period of time, having umpired the 2009, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017 and 2018 Grand Finals previously.

Butler will be umpiring his second TSL Grand Final after running in the 2018 decider, while Geason will officiate his first.

Lucas Chamberlain (fourth grand final in a row), Ollie Bennett (second grand final), Brodie Laing (second grand final), and Jack Marsh (on debut) are the boundary umpires.

Brayden White (third grand final) and Bryce Guy (second grand final) are the goal umpires, with Jayden Carey named as emergency.



Senior Grand Final Nathan Geason Matt Clarke Nick Butler Joel Harris (Emergency)
2019 Games 23 25 18 23
Total 37 170 170 198
Finals 4 27 13 25
Grand Finals 1 7 2 4



Senior Grand Final Lucas Chamberlain Ollie Bennett Jack Marsh   Brodie Laing   
2019 Games 21 20 24 22
Total 88 39 41 57
Finals 12 7 6 7
Grand Finals 4 2 1 2



Senior Grand Final Brayden White Bryce Guy Jayden Carey
2019 Games 19 21 15
Total 132 112 143
Finals 17 11 12
Grand Finals  3 2


Development League Grand Final

Field: Sam Bridges, Ryan Guy, Tom McIntee (Emergency: Casey Fellows)

Boundary: Dominic Schiliro, Caleb Devine, Will Jago, Jacob Bevis

Goal: Jayden Carey, Michael White (Emergency: Xanthea McCarthy)


Wrest Point TSLW Grand Final

Field: Adrian Cornish, Nick Flack, Chris K

Boundary: Blake Marriott, Nick Jordan, David Luttrell

Goal: William Robertson, William Flack (Emergency: TJ Donaghy)


Grand Final Schedule:

Date Venue Grand Final Start Time Home Club Away Club
Saturday 21 Sept Blundstone Arena TSL Development League Grand Final 9:40am Tigers FC North Launceston
Saturday 21 Sept Blundstone Arena Wrest Point TSLW Grand Final 12:30pm Launceston Clarence
Saturday 21 Sept Blundstone Arena Bupa Tasmanian State League Grand Final 3:00pm North Launceston Lauderdale


Entry at Blundstone Arena will be via the Western Gate, with tickets available to be purchased via cash or card – Adults – $15, Concession – $10, U16 – $2