Week 1 Finals Teams – Stars abound for finals action

Finals football is at our doorstep and some big changes have been made, with some of the competition’s best players returning. 


The Blues and Tigers, as expected, have brought in a number of stars for a do-or-die Elimination Final clash at Windsor Park.

The hosts have named a quartet of guns, with co-captain Jay Blackberry, dynamic forward Dylan Riley and RACT Insurance Player of the Year runner-up Fletcher Seymour, all set to return.

In an added boost for the Blues, Tasmania Devils co-captain Jared Dakin has also been named after making a successful return to the field last weekend.

Dakin hadn’t played any football this season prior to last weekend after a shoulder reconstruction, and will likely add an element of class to this Blues outfit.

Toby Lucas, Sam Bruinewoud, Bailey Gillow and Jayden Hinds all make way.


The Tigers have also made some key changes, bringing in star on-baller Kieran Lovell, veteran Marcus Davies and Devils duo Oliver Burrows-Cheng and Lachie Gadomski.

The Tigers will be without some key figures, though, with defenders Jarryd Drew and Will Poland both ruled out through injury. Patrick Kelly and Jakob Lister also go out.


Lauderdale has made a raft of changes, naming Devils duo Matt McGuinness and Oscar Shaw and experienced trio Josh McGuinness, Robbie McManus and Bryce Walsh.

Coach Darren Winter has acknowledged that both Josh McGuinness and McManus are still doubtful to play, however, with late changes a fair chance of occurring.

Matt Elliott, Lincoln Arnold, Jeremiah Perkins, Josh Williams and Ethan Whish-Wilson all go out.


Glenorchy has made two changes, bringing in club legend Jaye Bowden and experienced defender Tim Butterworth, with James Deegan and Sam Hall going out, with Hall sustaining another season-ending injury.

Star midfielder Ben Kamaric has been given every chance to return, being named as an emergency for the clash.






Elimination Final – 31/08/2019

1:00PM – Windsor Park


B: J. Boyd, S. Vandervelde, J. Tuthill

HB: M. Hodge, J. Smith, R. Tyrrell

C: J.  Dakin, T.  Bristow, B.  Palfreyman

HF: C. Brown, A. Wright, J. Gillow

F: J. Blackberry, M. Thorp, D. Riley

R: H. Leedham, J. Harper, F. Seymour

Int: J. Donnellan, G. Holt, B. Killalea, B. Taylor

Emg: J. Chaplin, H. Griffiths, J. Hinds, T. Lucas

In:, D. Riley, J. Dakin, J. Blackberry, F. Seymour

Out: S. Bruinewoud, T. Lucas, J. Hinds, B. Gillow

Tigers FC

B: B. Donnelly, B. McCulloch, S. Rice

HB: L. Gadomski, M. Davies, L. Griggs

C: A.  Bessell, R.  Matthews, L.  Clifford

HF: C. Bryant, T. Carter, K. Lovell

F: L. Graham, M. Paul, E. Reardon

R: M. Gardner, S. Duigan, L. Watt

Int: O. Burrows-Cheng, H. Johnston, B. Rees, A. Vincent

Emg: B. Gordon, P. Kelly, J. Lane, J. Lister

In: K. Lovell, O. Burrows-Cheng, L. Gadomski, M. Davies

Out: W. Poland, J. Drew, P. Kelly, J. Lister



Qualifying Final – 31/08/2018

2:00PM – Blundstone Arena


B: J. McGuinness, E. Trupp, N. Raglione

HB: M. Anderton, R. Wiggins, R. McManus

C: A.  Hevey, N.  Franklin, R.  Sutton

HF: H. Kerinaiua, A. Hill, A. Saunders

F: S. Burge, B. McGuinness, S. Siggins

R: H. Smith, P. Bellchambers, B. Walsh

Int: N. Baker, J. Gillbee, M. McGuinness, O. Shaw

Emg: R. Hill, J. Perkins, E. Whish-Wilson, J. Williams

In: J. McGuinness, R. McManus, O. Shaw, M. McGuinness, B. Walsh

Out: E. Whish-Wilson, J. Perkins, L. Arnold, J. Williams, M. Elliott

B: J. Arnold, T. Butterworth, Z. Webster

HB: R. Banks-Smith, C. Goodsell, A. Brennan

C: R.  Mott, J.  Geard, A.  Roberts

HF: J. Bowden, S. Reeves, C. French

F: C. Daly, A. Grace, L. Smith

R: C. Duffy, S. Rundle, J. Webb

Int: W. Atkin, B. Bester, N. Blowfield , J. Whitford

Emg: J. Deegan, B. Kamaric, B. Patterson, B. Rowbottom

In: T. Butterworth, J. Bowden

Out: S. Hall, J. Deegan




Elimination Final – 31/08/2019

9:30AM – Blundstone Arena



To be selected from:

L. Borsboom, A. Butterworth, S. Colley, A. Continenza, J. Ede, J. Gridley,

B. Hayden, N. Holmes, D. Howlett, A. Jackman, J. Jordan, B. Lewis,

T. Marshall, J. Nus, O. Paprotny, T. Penwright, O. Preshaw, D. Pulford,

B. Rubock, K. Saward, J. Smith, R. Stocks, S. Storic, N. Thornbury,

J. Tilley, J. Tremayne


To be selected from:

L. Arnold, D. Bransden, C. Brown, C. Carr, S. Clayton , T. Daff,

M. Elliott, S. Foster, W. Francis, L. Gallagher, W. Gergel, R. Hill,

P. Hudson, B. Kingston, C. Laoumtzis, T. Martin, L. Meagher, B. Newell,

J. Perkins, F. Rackett, T. Ratcliffe, D. Searle, N. Sneyd, B. Steinbauer,

C. Sutcliffe, S. Tilley, E. Whish-Wilson



Qualifying Final – 31/08/2019

5:00PM – Blundstone Arena

North Launceston

To be selected from:

W. Birchmore, A. Bourne, O. Chugg, L. Cocker, M. Cossins, T. Eiszele,

B. Elmer, C. Evans, T. Foon, C. Haines, W. Haley, J. Harris,

K. Hibbs, J. Kerr, J. Lanham, C. Lowe, J. Mazengarb, J. McHenry,

B. Pearn, C. Pearton, A. Potter, C. Praciak, H. Rand, O. Sanders,

C. Stuart, X. Todman, R. Whitney, L. Young

To be selected from:

J. Anders, W. Atkin, J. Bearman, B. Bester, N. Blowfield , T. Bowden,

B. Carr, J. Davie, J. Deegan, S. Deverell, R. Dilger, M. Dilger,

Z. Evans-fenton, J. Hills, M. Joseph, I. Manson, J. Millhouse, R. Oakley,

B. Patterson, K. Richards, J. Roberts, B. Rowbottom, T. Stacey, J. Stevenson,

Z. Welsh, J. West, J. Whitford, J. Whitney, A. Wilde, B. Williams

– ENDS –

For further information, please contact Anthony Osborn on 0447 317 9