Cox-Goodyer takes out RACT Insurance Player of the Year award

North Launceston captain Brad Cox-Goodyer has emerged as the winner of the prestigious RACT Insurance Player of the Year award for season 2019. 

Cox-Goodyer capped off a sensational home and away season with a two-vote performance in his side’s 51-point win over Glenorchy on Saturday to take his season tally to 21.

It was a hotly contested leaderboard all season, with Cox-Goodyer’s final round efforts seeing him leapfrog Launceston midfielder Fletcher Seymour for the award, with the star Blue finishing one point behind on 20 votes.

Cox-Goodyer’s North Launceston teammate Josh Ponting finished the year in third spot on 16 votes, ahead of Lauderdale ruckman Haydn Smith on 14 and star midfielders Sam Darley (North Hobart) and Bryce Walsh (Lauderdale) on 12.

Cox-Goodyer polled in 10 matches this season, including three best afield performances in a year that also saw him boot 45 goals to finish second in the race for the Hudson Medal.

Cox-Goodyer’s RACT Insurance Player of the Year honour is another addition to one of Tasmanian football’s most decorated resumes.

Cox-Goodyer is a four-time premiership player and two-time Darrel Baldock Medalist as the best player in both the 2017 and 2018 TSL Grand Finals. Cox-Goodyer also took home the competition’s highest individual honour, the Alastair Lynch Medal, as the competition’s best and fairest player in 2017.


RACT Insurance CEO Trent Sayers says Cox-Goodyer is a worthy winner of the award.

“On behalf of RACT Insurance, I would like to offer our wholehearted congratulations to Brad Cox-Goodyer on taking out this prestigious award.

“Brad has been one of Tasmanian football’s brightest talents for a long period of time and he is a worthy recipient of this award after another sensational season as a goalkicking midfielder.

“As a Tasmanian company and a member of the Tasmanian community, RACT Insurance is proud to support the TSL and the many participating football clubs who play such an important role in our local communities across the state.”

State Manager – TSL & TSLW Carl Saunder said Brad Cox-Goodyer’s dynamic season as a goalkicking midfielder made him a worthy winner.

“Brad has had a superb season as captain of the competition’s minor premier. For Brad to have such an influence on the scoreboard with 45 goals largely as a midfielder is evidence of how dynamic of a footballer he is.

“Brad is a fantastic representative for our competition, and his capacity to be a match-winner over such a long period of time is a credit to himself and the North Launceston Football Club,” he said.

“I would also like to thank RACT Insurance, in particular, Trent Sayers for their continued support of this award and the performance of players in our competition.”

The award is voted on by members of the media, who award 3, 2 and 1 votes after every TSL match. The RACT Insurance Player of the Year receives $2,500 cash and a $2,500 travel package.



North Hobart v Clarence – North Hobart Oval (23/08/19)

3- Colin Garland (North Hobart)

2- Sam Caswell (North Hobart)

1- Ethan Jackson (Clarence)

Launceston v Tigers FC – Windsor Park (24/08/18)

3- Tim Bristow (Launceston)

2- Alec Wright (Launceston)

1- Ryan Matthews (Tigers FC)

Glenorchy v North Launceston (24/08/18)

3- Josh Ponting (North Launceston)

2- Brad Cox-Goodyer (North Launceston)

1- Zac Webster (Glenorchy)



21 VOTES: Brad Cox-Goodyer (North Launceston)

20 VOTES: Fletcher Seymour (Launceston)

16 VOTES: Josh Ponting (North Launceston)

14 VOTES: Haydn Smith (Lauderdale)

12 VOTES: Sam Darley (North Hobart), Bryce Walsh (Lauderdale)

11 VOTES: Sam Siggins (Lauderdale), Mitch Thorp (Launceston)

10 VOTES: Ben Kamaric (Glenorchy), Ryan Matthews (Tigers FC), Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)



2018 – Daniel Joseph (Glenorchy) & Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

2017 – Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)

2016 – Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)

2015 – Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

2014 – Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)

2013 – Mitch Thorp (South Launceston)

2012 – Luke Shackleton (Burnie)

2011 – Cameron Thurley (Clarence)

2010 – Scott Stephens (Launceston)

2009 – Jeromey Webberley (Clarence)