Wrest Point TSLW Round 2 Preview

The Wrest Point Tasmanian State League Women’s competition will hold a massive triple-header of TSLW football at UTAS Stadium in round two, kicking off with a battle between new teams Lauderdale and North Launceston, writes TSL W reporter Olivia Clayton. 


Sunday 5th May

Lauderdale v. North Launceston (UTAS Stadium) – 11:00am

The competition’s two new teams, Lauderdale and North Launceston, will be the first to battle it out as part of the TSLW triple-header at UTAS Stadium.

Dean Smith will be coaching the North Launceston side, whilst Jodie Clifford has left Launceston to Captain the North Launceston side.

Clifford stated at the TSLW Wrest Point season launch that North Launceston has “got a really young squad of players, which brings that element of enthusiasm. For a lot of them they haven’t played in a state league match.”

“We’ve got three or four players that have had some TSLW experience, but other than that a lot our players have either come through our junior program or from the regional clubs, from the Launceston area,” she added.


Hayley Breward, Ella Maurer, Kara Hennessy, Bonnie Farrell and Briana Hinkley all play for the Tasmanian under 18 Devils.

Robbie McManus, life member and senior player at Lauderdale, will coach the Lauderdale TSLW team.

Lauderdale competed in the SFL in 2018, finishing fourth on the ladder but were knocked out in the elimination final.

Whilst 90% of the Lauderdale team have only been playing football for a year, McManus hopes to be competitive but is looking forward to seeing his players improve and develop their skills.

“Olivia Hudson, Charlotte Kenny and Bridget Dickenson are some players to keep and eye on. We have a lot of youth and a splash of a few experience players.

“The North Launceston coach has stated his team will be tough and competitive and we would expect nothing less. It will be a challenge but a challenge that everyone is looking forward to.

“I am just excited to see all the other teams play at the one venue and get a feel of how they are shaping up,” he said.





B: A. Park, C. O’Neill

HB: K. Teders , E. Donnelly, C. van Breda

C: M.  Hutt, C.  Kenny, S.  Williams

HF: L. Czeszek, E. Aliendi, C. Stewart

F: E. Burrows, E. Johnstone

R: B. Dickenson, B. Malcolm, C. McManus

Int: P. Farrow, B. Goward, A. Rance, L. Suris

Emg: M. Goldsmith, C. Edmund


North Launceston

B: S. Burrows, M. Carins

HB: E. Maurer, L. Hancock, S. Radford

C: S.  Farrow, J.  Clifford, T.  Woolley

HF: J. Brain , E. McKinnell, T. Whitney

F: B. Farrell, H. Grima

R: S. Townsend, M. Cuthbertson, H. Breward

Int: E. Barrenger, C. Farrow, C. Hooper, E. Mckenzie

Emg: G. Nicolson



Clarence v. Tigers (UTAS Stadium) – 1:00pm

Last Time They Met: Clarence 20.10 (130) def. Tigers 0.0 (0) – Round 16, 2018 at Geilston Bay Oval

The Tigers will play their second match of the 2019 season against the Roos at UTAS Stadium, after going down to Glenorchy in round one.

Last time they met North Melbourne recruit Maddy Smith kicked 5 goals for Clarence and Jacinta Limbrick was the Roos best player on the day.

The Tigers couldn’t get on the scoreboard on this occasion, but did have a few players suffering from illnesses, as well as a major injury blow when Olivia McGow fractured her collarbone.

The Tigers played against Glenorchy in round one on ANZAC Day, going down by in round one, Paige Flakemore scored the Tigers’ only goal when she was awarded a free kick. Marla Neal was their best on ground continuing her good form after having a stellar 2018 season.

Andy Smith will be coaching Clarence again in 2019, and the team will no doubt look to go one step further this season after losing out to Glenorchy in the 2018 Grand Final.

Clarence player Grace Mitchell states that the team has “got a new bunch of girls, so it’s a different side that we had compared to last year.”

Clarence also houses several North Melbourne AFLW players with Nicole Bresnehan, Maddison Smith and Jessie Williams all entering the 2019 season after time with the Tasmanian Kangaroos. Mitchell also states that Bresnehan, a key player for the Kangaroos, will definitely be one to watch this season.

Expect the ‘Roos to come out firing and start 2019 on the right foot after falling agonisingly short in the 2018 decider.




B: A. Hardner, L. Standen

HB: N. Pearce, K. Johnson, H. Scott

C: A.  Harper, N.  Bresnehan, M.  Westland

HF: G. Mitchell, D. Elliston, J. Williams

F: M. Wise, G. Blackburn

R: E. Westland, B. Scott, M. Smith

Int: R. Archer, T. Bortignon, B. Oates, A. Prokopiec

Emg: N. Garlo, C. MacPherson


Tigers FC

B: O. McGow, O. McKee

HB: E. Brereton, E. Doyle, P. Odwogo

C: M.  Bones, C.  Brooke, J.  Wynter

HF: M. Polley, , R. Roberts

F: K. Baker, P. Flakemore, L. Ellis

R: M. Absolom, H. Baldwin, S. Grimsey

Int: T. Clifford, I. Lovell, M. Wilkinson, M. McBride

Emg: M. Barr, K. Cornish

In: H. Baldwin, P. Odwogo

Out: M. Neal, M. Fish, E. Kirkwood



Glenorchy v. Launceston (UTAS Stadium) – 3:00pm

Last Time They Met: Glenorchy 6.10 (46) def. Launceston 3.7 (25) – Preliminary Final, 2018 at Blundstone Arena

Reigning premiers, Glenorchy will take on 2017 premiers, Launceston at UTAS Stadium in the 2018 Preliminary final rematch.

Last time they met Sarah Skinner, Sandy Eaton, Nietta Lynch, Jasmine Tate Turvey, Macklyn Sutcliffe and Meg Jacobs kicked one goal each for Glenorchy. The Pies best on ground was Brieanna Barwick.

Camilla Taylor, Dearne Taylor and Emma Manix-Geeves booted one goal each for Launceston, whilst Nicole Ristrom was the Blues best player.

Glenorchy scored their first win of the 2019 season in round one against the Tigers in the ANZAC Day clash.

Nietta Lynch was the Pies leading goal kicker booting five in the match. Whilst Gennaveve Sullivan was awarded the ANZAC Day Medal.

Ange Dickson will coach Launceston in the 2019 season. Mia King, All-Australian under 17 player, and Vice-Captain of the Tasmania Devils Under 18 side, is one to watch but has been named as an emergency for this opening clash. Also keep your eyes peeled out for the highly talented Haines twins, both of whom have just re-signed with North Melbourne.

With these two sides boasting plenty of talent and a healthy rivalry, expect this clash to be an entertaining affair.




B: N. Daniels, R. Siely

HB: T. Corrie, S. Davis, K. Stanford

C: H.  Barwick, S.  Skinner, J.  Webster

HF: H. Ryan, N. Lynch, M. Sutcliffe

F: M. Shaw, J. Tate Turvey

R: G. Sullivan, B. Barwick, E. Barwick

Int: G. Allan, M. Jacobs , H. Smith, J. Williams

Emg: H. Cowen, S. Griffiths

In: H. Smith

Out: A. Cowen



B: A. Carey, L. Haines

HB: G. Hill, C. Thuringer, M. Smith

C: C.  Haines, A.  Dickson, C.  Stanley

HF: D. Bannister, B. Rattray, E. Page

F: S. Beeton, M. Sinclair

R: A. Green, D. Taylor, L. Stevenson

Int: M. Hillier, M. Radford, B. Thurlow, H. Whyte

Emg: A. Halaby, M. King