‘Pies power past Tigers to start flag defence in style

Round one of the Wrest Point Tasmanian State League Women’s season saw 2018 Premiers Glenorchy notch their first win of the season in the ANZAC Day clash against the Tigers, writes TSLW Reporter Olivia Clayton.


Thursday 25th April

Glenorchy v. Tigers (KGV) – 6:00pm

Glenorchy 10.13 (73) defeated the Tigers 1.0 (6) in the first match of the 2019 season in a game full of tackles, courageous mark and fighting spirit. 

Nietta Lynch proved too strong for the Tigers in the opening term booting four goals for the Pies. Teammate Madison Shaw kicked her first goal in the TSLW after she shook off players, with a few twists and turns, and put it through right on the goal line.

The Tigers held on in the second quarter allowing Jemma Webster to score the reigning premiers only goal for the term, in addition to the Pies four behinds.

The Magpies remained in control of the contest, however, and when Nietta Lynch kicked her fifth for the game in the third term and Meg Jacobs kicked her first, the hosts held a strong 57-point buffer heading into the final stanza.

The Tigers battled hard in the final term, as evidenced by two Tigers and a Pie colliding in the centre of the ground after all three courageously went for the ball.

The Tigers began to have more of the ball inside forward 50 in the final term, with Paige Flakemore making the most of a free kick at the top of the goal square to kick her first goal in TSLW football and the Tigers’ only score of the match.

Glenorchy were still able to notch up another two goals and four behinds after Sarah Skinner and Katie Stanford kicked one each. The Pies ended the match with a 67-point win, and their ruck Gennaveve Sullivan, awarded the ANZAC Day Medal for her starring performance.



Round two sees a Gala Day of female football with all six teams playing at UTAS Stadium. The two new additions to the competition, Lauderdale and North Launceston, will battle it out first at 11:00am. They are followed by Clarence and the Tigers at 1:00pm and then Glenorchy against Launceston at 3:00pm.


Glenorchy Football Club        5.3       6.7       8.9       10.13 (73)

Tigers Football Club               0.0       0.0       0.0       1.0 (6)



Glenorchy Football Club: N. Lynch 5, K. Stanford, M. Jacobs, M. Shaw, S. Skinner, J. Webster

Tigers Football Club: P. Flakemore



Glenorchy Football Club: G. Sullivan, E. Barwick, J. Webster, N. Lynch, B. Barwick, S. Skinner

Tigers Football Club: M. Neal, O. McGow, E. Brereton, C. Brooke, E. Kirkwood, E. Doyle