2018 Wrest Point TSLW Team of the Year Announced

The Wrest Point Tasmanian State League Women’s (TSLW) Team of the Year has been selected.

All five Wrest Point TSLW clubs were asked to nominate players they believed worthy of Team of the Year consideration. An assembled panel then selected the best 20 of the 2018 season.

TSL W matches are played with 16 on the field. The selection panel picked the team and positions as if the team were to play a game.

Please see the team listed below.


Chanette Thuringer (Launceston)
The dashing Launceston defender has impressed in 2018, earning Team of the Year honours for a second straight season. Provides plenty of bounce and drive out of the back half for the Blues and was named in the best players on six occasions.

Rachael Siely (Glenorchy)
Holding down a key defensive post, Rachel Siely has been a rock for the Magpies in 2018. Rarely beaten by her direct opponent, Siely continues to get the job week in, week out and provides great stability to this defence.



Lauren Stevenson (Burnie)
One of the state’s most exciting young talents, Lauren Stevenson earned Allies selection at the under-18 National Championships while being a consistent member of the Burnie defence. 10 appearances in the Dockers’ best players from 13 games underlines her consistency as a lockdown defender, while her precise kicking has become a trademark of her game.

Loveth Ochayi (Clarence)
After starting the season as a rotating forward and defender, the talented Ochayi looks to have found a home in defence for the ‘Roos, holding down the Centre Half Back post. Is able to blanket the opposition’s best forward, as highlighted by conceding just one goal to leading goal kicker Nietta Lynch in round 13.

Thomasa Corrie (Glenorchy)
Arguably the most consistent player in the TSLW, Corrie backed up a sensational 2017 season with another strong campaign. Named in the best players on four occasions and playing a key leadership role both at KGV and within this team.



Elise Barwick (Glenorchy)
A classy outside midfielder, Elise Barwick is an immense talent, as highlighted by her time representing Tasmania against NSW/ACT. A strong outside runner with devastating pace, Barwick uses her speed and dash to slice and dice opposition sides. Named in the best on seven occasions from 13 games.

Sarah Skinner (Glenorchy)
After being named in the back pocket in the 2017 Team of the Year while at the Dockers, Skinner has taken her game to another level this season with more midfield minutes. Skinner has a knack for accumulating the football and makes the opposition pay with strong use heading inside 50. The ball magnet kicked six goals from her 13 games, while also being named the best on 10 occasions.

Libby Haines (Burnie)
One of the most versatile players in the state, Libby Haines has gone from strength to strength this season, being named in the best 10 times from 11 games. Earned the opportunity to play for Melbourne University in the VFLW and the Allies at the under-18 Championships, Haines is an elite user who can play as a half back or ruck.


Mackie Sutcliffe (Glenorchy)
A classy half forward with the capacity to hurt opposition defences, Mackie Sutcliffe has taken her game to another level in 2018. Kicking 15 goals from 14 games, the 19 year old has been a crucial figure in Glenorchy’s minor premiership campaign, with her willingness to take the game on a feature.

Jacinta Limbrick (Clarence)
The linchpin of the Clarence forward line, Jacinta Limbrick has been an immense presence inside 50 all season to earn her second straight Team of the Year Centre Half Forward selection. Limbrick kicked 24 goals from 13 games, while also providing bringing her teammates into the game to hit the scoreboard. A gun of the competition.

Maddy Smith (Clarence)
The first open age North Melbourne signing from Tasmania, Maddy Smith started the year in style with a nine-goal haul against the Tigers and hasn’t looked back since. A consistent contributor inside 50, Smith has kicked 23 goals for the season, often working right up the ground to influence contests further afield.



Courtney Webb (Launceston)
Courtney Webb’s elite talent has been on full display throughout the season, kicking 20 goals a rotating midfielder/forward. Webb delivered arguably the performance of the season in round 12, booting a stunning 11-goal haul against the Dockers.

Nietta Lynch (Glenorchy)  – Captain
The most decorated of TSLW players, Glenorchy superstar Nietta Lynch was the competition’s premier forward, booting 34 goals from 14 games. Lynch has been an exemplary leader for the Magpies, steering the side to the minor premiership, and with another Leading Goalkicker award to her name, is a clear choice as captain and full forward.



Abbey Green (Launceston)
The most damaging ruck in the TSLW, the 2017 Team of the Year ruck has added a further string to her bow this season with increased potency forward of centre. With 13 goals from 13 games, Green is a handy avenue to goal, while also rarely getting beaten in the ruck.

Nicole Bresnehan (Clarence)
A workhorse within the Clarence midfield, Nicole Bresnehan is a machine on the inside and after being named in the best players six times from 11 games on top of a stint with Melbourne Uni in the VFLW, has only taken her game to another level after also earning Team of the Year recognition in 2017.

Angela Dickson (Launceston) – Vice Captain
The Launceston co-captain and assistant coach has been a model of consistency at Windsor Park this season, kicking 14 goals from 14 games and being named in the best players on nine occasions. A consistent performer built for the big moments, Dickson is a walk-up selection for this side.


Brieanna Barwick (Glenorchy)
The hard-working Barwick has earned her second straight team of the year nod after another consistent campaign. A hard-running midfielder who thrives around stoppages, Barwick is a workhorse for the ‘Pies and the kind of player that can lift those around her. Worked forward to kick four goals throughout the season.

Mia King (Launceston)
One of the state’s most exciting young guns, Mia King has X-Factor written all over her. A classy user of the ball with the work-rate to match, King has kicked four goals from 10 TSLW appearances in 2018, while also earning call ups for the Tasmanian, Eastern Allies and All Stars representative sides.

Marla Neal (Tigers FC)
A stalwart of her Tigers outfit, Marla Neal is one of the toughest players in the TSLW. A strong inside midfielder, Neal uses her strength and explosiveness to break away from stoppages and get out of trouble. A ferocious tackler and clearance machine, Neal is the type of player every side would love to have several of.

Chloe Haines (Burnie)
Another emerging versatile talent, Chloe Haines has delivered eye catching performances throughout the season as a key forward, ruck and rover. With elite skills, footy smarts and the ability and willingness to play a variety of roles, Haines has impressed with eight best player nods from 10 matches.


Craig Grace (Glenorchy) – Coach
Grace has helped steer the Magpies to the 2018 minor premiership after being defeated just twice throughout the home and away season. The competition’s frontrunner for almost the season’s entirety, Grace is an impressive coach and has helped nurture some exciting young Magpie talent.

Andy Smith (Clarence) – Assistant Coach
The 2017 Coach of the Year has again done a terrific job with his squad, guiding the ‘Roos to second spot on the ladder. Clarence remained competitive in every game they played this season, with several big wins highlighting the talent of the team and the success of his game plans.

Alex Gibbins (Launceston) – Assistant Coach
The 2017 premiership coach has been an impressive leader at Windsor Park in 2018, ensuring the side maintained form and competitiveness, despite often having an injury-depleted squad.