Joseph, Whitford Share RACT Insurance Player Of The Year Honours

Glenorchy defender Daniel Joseph and North Launceston playing coach Taylor Whitford have emerged as joint winners of the prestigious RACT Insurance Player of the Year award.

Both Joseph and Whitford were equal on 16 votes heading into the final round of the home and away season, with Whitford picking up two votes in North Launceston’s win over Lauderdale and Joseph two in Glenorchy’s narrow loss to the Blues.


The two stars had been at the pointy end of the leaderboard for much of the season before finishing with 18 votes, clear of Launceston young gun Chayce Jones on 12 and North Launceston midfielder Josh Ponting on 11.

This is the first time the award has been shared between two players.

Having returned to Tasmania this season after a successful stint with the Aspley Hornets in the NEAFL, Joseph made his presence felt in his return to KGV, combining with the likes of Harrison Gunther, Josh Arnold and Josh Grant to form one of the competition’s best defensive units.

“It is obviously a nice bonus at the end of the year. I know a lot of our family and friends were keeping close interest in it,” Joseph said. 

After captaining North Launceston to the 2017 TSL premiership, Taylor Whitford’s transition into coaching has been seamless, as reflected by his consistent individual form that has earned him a second RACT Insurance Player of the Year award.

Whitford, the 2015 RACT Insurance Player of the Year, has kicked 29 goals for the season – the fifth most in the competition – en route to steering the reigning premiers to the minor premiership.

“To have won it with Daniel is quite special. It is something I will look back on at the end of my career. There is a great history of past winners, like Jaye Bowden,” Whitford said. 

RACT Insurance CEO Trent Sayers said both Taylor Whitford and Daniel Joseph were worthy recipients of the prestigious RACT Insurance TSL Player of the Year award.

“Whitford has confirmed his position as one of the most consistent players in the state, backing up his 2015 win with his second Player of the Year title, while Joseph’s return to Glenorchy after a successful stint in Queensland has played a key role in the Magpies looking like one of the teams to beat in 2018,” Mr Sayers said.

“On behalf of RACT Insurance, I would like to offer our wholehearted congratulations to Taylor Whitford and Daniel Joseph, as well as the North Launceston and Glenorchy football clubs for outstanding seasons.

“As a Tasmanian company and a member of the Tasmanian community, RACT Insurance is proud to support the TSL and the many participating football clubs who play such an important role in our local communities across the state.”

Tasmanian State League General Manager Carl Saunder said Daniel and Taylor’s consistent seasons made them worthy recipients of the prestigious title.

“Congratulations to Daniel and Taylor on exceptional seasons.

“Taylor’s transition from player to playing-coach has been seamless, leading the Bombers to a second straight minor premiership.

“Daniel hit the ground running from his very first game back at KGV, with his precise kicking and ability to intercept making him one of the most damaging defenders in the league.

“Taylor and Daniel are both terrific footballers and great ambassadors for their clubs and Tassie footy.

“I would also like to thank RACT Insurance, in particular, Trent Sayers for their continued support of this award and the performance of players in our competition.”

The award is voted on by members of the media, who award 3, 2 and 1 votes after every TSL match. The RACT Insurance Player of the Year receives $2,500 cash and a $2,500 travel package.



Launceston v Glenorchy – Windsor Park (18/08/18)

3- Chayce Jones (Launceston)

2- Daniel Joseph (Glenorchy)

1- Harrison Gunther (Glenorchy)

Lauderdale v North Launceston – Lauderdale Oval (18/08/18)

3- Josh McGuinness (Lauderdale)

2- Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

1- Mark Walsh (North Launceston)

Clarence v Tigers FC – Blundstone Arena (18/08/18)

3- Brady Jones (Clarence)

2- Marcus Davies (Tigers FC)

1- Ryan Edmondson (Clarence)



18 VOTES. Daniel Joseph (Glenorchy)

18 VOTES. Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

12 VOTES. Chayce Jones (Launceston)

11 VOTES. Josh Ponting (North Launceston)

10 VOTES. Ryan Bailey (Clarence)

10 VOTES. Tom Bennett (North Launceston)

10 VOTES. Jake Cox (Clarence)

10 VOTES. Brady Jones (Clarence)

9 VOTES. Phil Bellchambers (Lauderdale)

9 VOTES.Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)

9 VOTES. Rulla Kelly-Mansell (Launceston)



2017 – Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)

2016 – Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)

2015 – Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

2014 – Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)

2013 – Mitch Thorp (South Launceston)

2012 – Luke Shackleton (Burnie)

2011 – Cameron Thurley (Clarence)

2010 – Scott Stephens (Launceston)

2009 – Jeromey Webberley (Clarence)