RACT Insurance Player of the Year Votes – Round 20


Round 20 of the Bupa Tasmanian State League has been run and won, and with just one round to go the race for the RACT Insurance Player of the Year Award is down to just two players with little movement from the frontrunners in round 20. 

Glenorchy key defender Josh Grant was adjudged best afield for his stellar effort against the ‘Roos at Blundstone Arena, with versatile teammate James Webb also catching the eye with a strong display. Clarence young gun Tom Birchall was rewarded for his best senior performance with his first vote for the season.

Former Gold Coast Sun Jacob Gillbee had a day out against the Demons at North Hobart Oval, kicking seven goals in a big Lauderdale win. Nat Franklin was as busy as ever through the middle of the ground to earn two votes, while Thor Boscott rounded out the voting after a five-goal haul.

Exciting draft prospect Chayce Jones continued his impressive run of form, polling maximum votes in the Blues’ come-from-behind triumph over the Tigers. Jones now has votes in every senior TSL game he has played in 2018 to take his tally to nine, just two votes off second place. Consistent Blue Jake Smith was again prominent for Launceston to earn two votes, while Tigers stalwart Marcus Davies rounded out the voting with an effective half-back performance.


Clarence v Glenorchy – Blundstone Arena, 11/08/18

3- Josh Grant (Glenorchy)

2- James Webb (Glenorchy)

1- Tom Birchall (Clarence)


North Hobart v Lauderdale – North Hobart Oval, 11/08/18

3- Jacob Gillbee (Lauderdale)

2- Nat Franklin (Lauderdale)

1- Thor Boscott (Lauderdale)


Tigers FC v Launceston – Twin Ovals, 11/08/18

3- Chayce Jones (Launceston)

2- Jake Smith (Launceston)

1- Marcus Davies (Tigers)


With Taylor Whitford having the bye and Daniel Joseph not polling, the race for the RACT Insurance Player of the Year award will come down to the final round of the season. 

Whitford’s Northern Bombers will face Lauderdale on the road, while Glenorchy will be taking on the Blues at Windsor Park.

The chasing pack are all out of calculations for the award itself, but will all be able to shake-up the make-up of the leaderboard in the final round.


16 VOTES: Daniel Joseph (Glenorchy), Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

11 VOTES: Josh Ponting (North Launceston)

10 VOTES: Ryan Bailey (Clarence), Tom Bennett (North Launceston), Jake Cox (Clarence)

9 VOTES: Phil Bellchambers (Lauderdale), Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy), Rulla Kelly-Mansell (Launceston), Chayce Jones (Launceston)


Votes are announced on Southern Cross News every Monday night and will be uploaded here round by round in 2018.

Votes are announced on Southern Cross News every Monday night.

THE RACT Insurance Player of the Year is awarded to the player with the most votes at the end of the regular season as determined by votes cast by journalists after each game. The RACT Insurance Player of the Year wins a $2,500 cash prize and a $2,500 RACT Travel voucher.