RACT Insurance Player of the Year Votes – Round 19


Round 19 votes are in for the RACT Insurance Player of the Year award, with a new joint leader emerging. 

North Launceston playing-coach did it all at North Hobart Oval on Saturday, finding plenty of the football and kicking six goals en route to leading his side to victory. Whitford’s efforts earned him the three Player of the Year votes to take him to equal first alongside Magpie Daniel Joseph. Josh Ponting was also a big mover, picking up two votes to move into outright second, while Zach Burt polled for a second straight game.

Rhys Mott notched his second straight best on ground effort, while Mitch Rainbird did the same with the two votes. Key defender Josh Grant also stood tall against the Tigers to play a key role in the win and earn one vote.

Mariners captain and hyped draft prospect Chayce Jones now has votes for every game he has played since returning from Mariners and Allies duties, picking up his first three-vote haul of the season. Key forward Mitch Thorp was also recognised for his six goals, while young gun Jake Hinds also impressed to finish with a solitary vote.


Launceston v Clarence – Windsor Park, 04/08/18

3- Chayce Jones (Launceston)

2- Mitch Thorp (Launceston)

1- Jake Hinds (Launceston)


North Hobart v North Launceston – North Hobart Oval, 04/08/18

3- Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

2- Josh Ponting (North Launceston)

1- Zach Burt (North Launceston)


Tigers FC v Glenorchy – Twin Ovals, 04/08/18

3- Rhys Mott (Glenorchy)

2- Mitch Rainbird (Glenorchy)

1- Josh Grant (Glenorchy)


Taylor Whitford’s dominant performance at North Hobart Oval has seen him poll maximum votes and move into equal first alongside Daniel Joseph with just two rounds remaining, although Whitford’s Bombers only have one game left. Fellow Bomber Josh Ponting also moved into outright second after notching the two votes against the Demons. 


16 VOTES: Daniel Joseph (Glenorchy), Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

11 VOTES: Josh Ponting (North Launceston)

10 VOTES: Ryan Bailey (Clarence), Tom Bennett (North Launceston), Jake Cox (Clarence)

9 VOTES: Phil Bellchambers (Lauderdale), Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy), Rulla Kelly-Mansell (Launceston)

8 VOTES: Troy Cunliffe (Clarence), Sherrin Egger (North Launceston), Haydn Smith (Lauderdale)


Votes are announced on Southern Cross News every Monday night and will be uploaded here round by round in 2018.

Votes are announced on Southern Cross News every Monday night.

THE RACT Insurance Player of the Year is awarded to the player with the most votes at the end of the regular season as determined by votes cast by journalists after each game. The RACT Insurance Player of the Year wins a $2,500 cash prize and a $2,500 RACT Travel voucher.