RACT Insurance Player of the Year Votes – Round 18


Round 18 votes are in for the RACT Insurance Player of the Year award, with the leader moving another vote ahead of the chasing pack. 

Glenorchy on-baller Rhys Mott led the way in Glenorchy’s demolition of the Demons, controlling the game around stoppages to earn three votes. Fellow midfield star Mitch Rainbird also impressed to pick up two votes, while consistent defender Daniel Joseph was again influential to round out the voting.

Five-goal hero Tom Bennett was adjudged best afield in the Northern Bombers’ triumph over Clarence, while Zach Burt and Keegan Wylie’s efforts in their defensive posts were also recognised.

Lauderdale big man Haydn Smith was exceptional around the ground in a thrilling one-point win on Saturday, earning the three votes ahead of six-goal Tigers star Luke Graham and Lauderdale’s midfield general Phil Bellchambers.


Glenorchy v North Hobart – KGV Oval, 28/07/18

3- Rhys Mott (Glenorchy)

2- Mitch Rainbird (Glenorchy)

1- Daniel Joseph (Glenorchy)


North Launceston v Clarence – UTAS Stadium, 28/07/18

3- Tom Bennett (North Launceston)

2- Zach Burt (North Launceston)

1- Keegan Wylie (Clarence)


Lauderdale v Tigers FC – Lauderdale Oval, 28/07/18

3- Haydn Smith (Lauderdale)

2- Luke Graham (Tigers FC)

1- Phil Bellchambers (Lauderdale)


Daniel Joseph’s vote has moved him three games clear of next-best Taylor Whitford, while Tom Bennett, Phil Bellchambers and Haydn Smith were also big movers across round 18 to keep the chasing pack as big as ever. 


16 VOTES: Daniel Joseph (Glenorchy)

13 VOTES: Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

= 10 VOTES: Ryan Bailey (Clarence), Tom Bennett (North Launceston), Jake Cox (Clarence)

= 9 VOTES: Phil Bellchambers (Lauderdale), Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy), Rulla Kelly-Mansell (Launceston), Josh Ponting (North Launceston)

= 8 VOTES: Troy Cunliffe (Clarence), Sherrin Egger (North Launceston), Haydn Smith (Lauderdale)


Votes are announced on Southern Cross News every Monday night and will be uploaded here round by round in 2018.

Votes are announced on Southern Cross News every Monday night.

THE RACT Insurance Player of the Year is awarded to the player with the most votes at the end of the regular season as determined by votes cast by journalists after each game. The RACT Insurance Player of the Year wins a $2,500 cash prize and a $2,500 RACT Travel voucher.