RACT Insurance Player of the Year Votes – Round 15


Round 15 votes are in for the RACT Insurance Player of the Year award, with only one player in the leading pack picking up votes. 

Friday night’s thrilling Launceston derby saw Blue defender-turned-forward Dylan Riley steal the show, booting four goals, including three in the third term, in the narrow loss; with this performance earning him the three votes. Bombers skipper Taylor Whitford continued his impressive form with another strong showing to pick up two votes, while key forward Bart McCulloch also impressed.

Playing on the wide expanses of Blundstone Arena seemed to suit Lauderdale excitement machine Tim Mosquito, who booted three goals on his way to the Speak UP! Stay ChatTY medal and three votes. Big man Haydn Smith was also dominant, while returning star Thor Boscott was a dynamic presence inside 50.

Mitch Carter polled maximum votes for his efforts against the Demons on Saturday afternoon, while teammate Luke Graham continued his rich goalkicking form with three majors to pick up two votes. Returning Tassie Mariner and Allies representative Baxter Norton also continued his strong TSL form to round out the votes.


North Launceston v Launceston – UTAS Stadium, 07/07/18

3- Dylan Riley (Launceston)

2- Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

1- Bart McCulloch (North Launceston)


Clarence v Lauderdale – Blundstone Arena, 08/07/18

3- Tim Mosquito (Lauderdale)

2- Haydn Smith (Lauderdale)

1- Thor Boscott (Lauderdale)


North Hobart v Tigers – North Hobart Oval, 08/07/18

3- Mitch Carter (Tigers)

2- Luke Graham (Tigers)

1- Baxter Norton (North Hobart)


There has been little movement in the leaderboard after round 15, with only Taylor Whitford picking up votes as part of the leading pack. His two votes have moved him to within just one vote of leader Daniel Joseph, while also creating a three-vote buffer between himself and the third-placed Ryan Bailey. 


14 VOTES: Daniel Joseph (Glenorchy)

13 VOTES: Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

10 VOTES: Ryan Bailey (Clarence)

9 VOTES: Jaye Bowden (Glenorchy)

8 VOTES: Phil Bellchambers (Lauderdale)

8 VOTES: Jake Cox (Clarence)

8 VOTES: Troy Cunliffe (Claremce)

8 VOTES: Sherrin Egger (North Launceston)


Votes are announced on Southern Cross News every Monday night and will be uploaded here round by round in 2018.

Votes are announced on Southern Cross News every Monday night.

THE RACT Insurance Player of the Year is awarded to the player with the most votes at the end of the regular season as determined by votes cast by journalists after each game. The RACT Insurance Player of the Year wins a $2,500 cash prize and a $2,500 RACT Travel voucher.