RACT Insurance Player of the Year Votes – Round 10


Round 10 RACT Insurance Player of the Year votes have landed, with one of the competition’s surprise packets delivering another exceptional performance to move into the overall lead. 

Clarence big man Ryan Bailey delivered his third best on ground performance this season, in the ‘Roos win over the Demons. Bailey kicked four goals while dominating in the ruck in a clear three-vote performance.

IC: Solstice Digital

Mobile forward Alex Silver was rewarded for his five-goal haul with two votes, while North Hobart’s Nick Lee registered his first vote for the season.

Lauderdale star Phil Bellchambers led from the front in the middle of the ground against Launceston, kicking a goal and finding plenty of the football in a best on ground display. Fellow midfielder Nat Franklin picked up two votes for his important role through the midfield, while Tassie Mariner Jared Dakin was recognised with one vote.

North Launceston’s defence stood tall against Glenorchy, with Jay Foon (three votes) and Sherrin Egger (two) receiving recognition for their efforts. Midfielder Josh Ponting was also exceptional, picking up one vote for his troubles.


Lauderdale v Launceston – Lauderdale Oval, 02/06/18

3- Phil Bellchambers (Lauderdale)

IC: Solstice Digital

2- Nat Franklin (Lauderdale)

1- Jared Dakin (Launceston)


Clarence v North Hobart – Blundstone Arena, 02/06/18  

3- Ryan Bailey (Clarence)

2- Alex Silver (Clarence)

1- Nick Lee (North Hobart)


Glenorchy v North Launceston – KGV Oval, 02/06/18

IC: Andrew Woodgate

3- Jay Foon (North Launceston)

2- Sherrin Egger (North Launceston)

1- Josh Ponting (North Launceston)






Clarence big man Ryan Bailey’s third best on ground performance has moved him one vote clear atop the leaderboard after 10 rounds, while Sherrin Egger and Phil Bellchambers have also moved to within striking distance of the leading pack. 



9 VOTES: Ryan Bailey (Clarence)

8 VOTES: Taylor Whitford (North Launceston)

7 VOTES: Daniel Joseph (Glenorchy)

6 VOTES: Tom Bennett (North Launceston)

6 VOTES: Tom Couch (North Launceston)

6 VOTES: Sherrin Egger (North Launceston)

5 VOTES: Phil Bellchambers (Lauderdale)

5 VOTES: Jake Cox (Clarence)

5 VOTES: Brodie Palfreyman (Launceston)

5 VOTES: Mitch Thorp (Launceston)



Votes are announced on Southern Cross News every Monday night and will be uploaded here round by round in 2018.

Votes are announced on Southern Cross News every Monday night.

THE RACT Insurance Player of the Year is awarded to the player with the most votes at the end of the regular season as determined by votes cast by journalists after each game. The RACT Insurance Player of the Year wins a $2,500 cash prize and a $2,500 RACT Travel voucher.