Wrest Point TSLW Round 4 Wrap

Round four of the Wrest Point TSLW season saw two large winning margins, with Clarence bouncing back to form in emphatic fashion and the Tigers falling well short of the reigning premier, writes TSLW Digital Reporter Olivia Clayton.


Sunday 13th May

Burnie v. Clarence (Wivenhoe) – 12:00pm

Clarence 17.10 (112) kept Burnie 0.1 (1) goalless in the match at Wivenhoe with an eerily similar score to the last time the sides met in round 12 2017, where the Roos skipped away to a 107-point win. 

After going down to Glenorchy last weekend, Clarence came out firing in the first quarter against the Dockers, scoring five goals, that was then followed by three in the second quarter.

Burnie was only able to score one behind at Wivenhoe with this coming in the third term, all the while Clarence kicked another five goals in the same stanza and a further four in the final term to run out 111-point winners.

Jacinta Limbrick and Nat Pearce kicked four goals each for Clarence, whilst Darcy Elliston scored two. Jessica Minifie, Nat Heggie, Tiff Nichols, Chloe Wells, Sophie Pennicott, Chantelle MacPherson and Jenna Farrow all scored one each in an even team performance from the ‘Roos.

In round five Burnie will take on Glenorchy, who will be coming off the bye, at KGV; while Clarence will travel to Oatlands to take on Launceston in what promises to be a fascinating contest.


Burnie Football Club           0.0       0.0       0.1       0.1 (1)

Clarence Football Club        5.4       8.5      13.9     17.10 (112)



Clarence Football Club: J. Limbrick 4, N. Pearce 4, D. Elliston 2, J. Minifie, N. Heggie, T. Nichols, C. Wells, S. Pennicott, C. MacPherson, J. Farrow


Burnie Football Club: J. Mercer, C. Haines, C. Chandler, L. Haines, S. Langmaid, L. Stevenson

Clarence Football Club: J. Limbrick, N. Bresnehan, S. Pennicott, K. Johnson, N. Pearce, C. MacPherson


Sunday 13th May

Launceston v. Tigers (Windsor Park) – 12:00pm

Despite the Tigers determination to win again this week, after winning their first game as a club in round three, they went down to an in-form Launceston 1.4 (10) to 14.9 (93) at Windsor Park.

The Tigers gave Launceston a scare in the first quarter when Sarah Grimsey scored the first goal of the game, which was then followed by several scoring opportunities for the Tigers. However, Launceston gained the upper hand late in the term, with goals from Ange Dickson and Abbey Green creating a four-point lead going in to the second quarter.

Less than a minute into the second quarter Danika Corcoran kicked a goal for Launceston which was then followed by goals from Courtney Stanley, Emma Manix-geeves, Ange Dickson, Abbey Green, and two from Mia King as the Blues asserted control.

The second quarter also brought on a controversial decision that occurred when the siren did not sound for half time leading the quarter to go 43 seconds longer than it should have. During this time Launceston was awarded a 50-metre penalty in which they kicked a behind. This decision was later overturned and the behind did not count towards Launceston’s score.

After dominating the second term, Launceston had a 54-point lead going in to the third quarter. Both teams had plenty of scoring opportunities this quarter but struggled to get on the board, with Launceston’s Chanette “Chevy” Thuringer kicking the only goal of the term.

Launceston kept the Tigers scoreless in the fourth term, while Manix-geeves scored another goal for the Blues that was then followed up with goals from Brooke Thurlow and another from King to see the Blues record an impressive 83-point victory and push further ahead atop the Wrest Point TSLW Ladder.

Launceston will face Clarence at Oatlands in round five, whilst the Tigers incur the bye.


Launceston Football Club   2.0       10.3       11.7      14.9 (93)

Tigers Football Club            1.2       1.3       1.4       1.4 (10)



Launceston Football Club: M. King 3, E. Manix-geeves 2, A. Green 2, A. Dickson 2, B. Thurlow, C. Stanley, C. Thuringer, D. Taylor, D. Corcoran

Tigers Football Club: S. Grimsey


Launceston Football Club: A. Dickson, M. King, E. Manix-geeves, B. White, C. Taylor, A. Green

Tigers Football Club: M. Neal, C. Brooke, B. Phillips, M. Absolom, G. Millar, M. Smith