Wrest Point TSLW Round 2 Wrap

Round two of the Wrest Point Tasmanian State League Women’s season has seen the reigning premiers continue to come out strong and the Magpies register their first win of the season, writes TSL W Digital Reporter Olivia Clayton. 


Sunday 29th April

Glenorchy v. Tigers (KGV) – 12:00pm

Glenorchy took out their first win of the season with a 10.15 (75) to 0.0 (0) defeat of the Tigers at KGV. 

The first goal of the game was kicked by Glenorchy player Brieanna Barwick and was followed up by a goal from teammate, Natalie Daniels, after being awarded a free kick. The Tigers were yet to score.

The second quarter saw more time spent in the Tigers forward half than the previous quarter despite them still being unable to score.

Glenorchy had five different goal kickers in the second term with Brieanna Barwick, Jade Williams, Nietta Lynch and Elise Barwick and Meg Jacobs all scoring one goal each.

Early into the third quarter Tigers player, Jess Murphy, receive a corky in the thigh after a heavy bump from Glenorchy player, Tahlia Strong. Play was stopped and Murphy walked off the ground with the assistance of trainers. However, Murphy was able to return later in the fourth quarter. Tigers coach, Brad Willis, commented that Murphy “will be restricted to light duties and rehab” and is “still a chance to play this week”.

The one and only goal kicked in the third quarter was kicked by Glenorchy player, Natalie Daniels. after teammate, Jasmine Tate Turvey, kicked the ball to her narrowly missing two attempted smothers by the Tigers.

The fourth quarter began with a free kick awarded to the Tigers after Glenorchy had too many players in the centre, but the visitors weren’t able to capitalise on the scoreboard.

Brieanna Barwick went on to score her third goal for the game with Sandra Eaton scoring her first.

Barwick, Sarah Skinner and Macklyn Sutcliffe were all among the Magpies’ best, while Hannah Squires impressed for the Tigers.

The game ended with a display of great sportsmanship when both teams came together in the middle of the ground for three cheers.

Glenorchy will play Clarence at Blundstone Arena in round three, while the Tigers will host Burnie at the Twin Ovals as they look to register an early season victory.

Glenorchy Football Club        2.6       7.8       8.13     10.15 (75)

Tigers Football Club               0.0       0.0       0.0       0.0 (0)


Glenorchy Football Club: B. Barwick 3, N. Daniels 2, N. Lynch, M. Jacobs, S. Eaton, J. Williams, E. Barwick


Glenorchy Football Club: M. Sutcliffe, S. Skinner, R. Siely, B. Barwick, H. Smith, G. Sullivan

Tigers Football Club: H. Squires, M. Neal, M. Absolom, C. Brooke, R. Roberts, O. McGow



Sunday 29th April

Burnie v. Launceston (Wivenhoe) – 12:00pm

Reigning premiers, Launceston, took on 2017’s fourth placed Burnie and emerged victorious, running out 12.13 (85) to 0.3 (3) winners at Wivenhoe.

Launceston made a big statement last weekend in defeating Glenorchy in round one, and after defeating Burnie by 24 points last time the two sides met last season, the Blues managed to register a big win to go two from two to start their premiership defence.

Despite fighting hard at their adopted home ground of Wivenhoe, the Dockers were only able to manage three behinds against Launceston this time around.

Launceston had eight different goal scorers with Ange Dickson, Molly Clark, Courtney Stanley and Danika Corcoran all scoring two each.

Camilla Taylor, Nikki Ristrom, Kate McLaughlin and Emma Manix-Geeves round out the last of Launceston’s goal kickers scoring one each, highlighting the Blues’ even spread of contributors across the board.

Burnie, who had the bye in round one, will be looking to register an early season victory when they take on the similarly winless Tigers at Kingston’s Twin Ovals in round three, while Launceston will rest up with the bye.

Launceston Football Club      2.4       5.5       9.11     12.13 (85)

Burnie Football Club              0.0       0.3       0.3       0.3 (3)


Launceston Football Club: A. Dickson 2, M. Clark 2, C. Stanley 2, D. Corcoran 2, C. Taylor, N. Ristrom, K. McLaughlin, E. Manix-geeves


Launceston Football Club: K. McLaughlin, C. Taylor, A. Dickson, C. Stanley, A. Carey, Z. Claridge

Burnie Football Club: L. Haines, E. Doig, L. Stevenson, E. Duncombe, S. Rodman, J. Mercer