AFL Tasmania’s General Manager, State League, Shaun Young, today announced the initial senior squad of 41 players for the Tasmanian State Team to play against the NEAFL on Sunday 7th June at Moreton Bay Sporting Complex (Burpengary, Queensland).

The squad will be reduced over the course of the training program with the final squad of 23 players being announced on Wednesday 3rd June.

There are 22 new players in the initial 2015 squad that didn’t participate in the 2014 State Team squad that went on to defeat the NEAFL at Blundstone Arena, of the 22 new players there are 4 players (Nick Pearce, Glenn Dawson, Tom Bennett and Marcus Davies) who are participating in the State League for their first season.

AFL Tasmania’s High Performance Manager, Mathew Armstrong, will take on the role as Chairman of Selectors of the Senior State Team, Brett Geappen as the Head Coach assisted by, Zane Littlejohn, Adam Henley, Nick Paine, Mitch Hills and Aaron Cornelius.

Chairman of selectors, Mathew Armstrong said, “The selection panel has been around the state viewing games and we believe we have come up with a very good initial squad in readiness to take on the NEAFL with the sole focus to win the game”

2015 Initial Squad
Burnie: Darren Banham, Nick Walters, Harry Walters, Jason Laycock
Clarence: Brady Jones, Jake Cox, Jeromey Webberley, James Charlesworth, Trent Standen
Devonport: Mitch Thorp, Nick Pearce, Sam Hess
Glenorchy: Jaye Bowden, Mitch Rainbird, Brayden Webb, Ben Reynolds, Rhys Mott
Hobart City: Ryan Matthews, Julian Dobosz
Lauderdale: Jack Siggins, Thor Boscott, Nick Dodge, Bryce Walsh, Adam Duggan
Launceston: Sonny Whiting, Michael Musicka, Sam Rundle
North Launceston: Taylor Whitford, Tom Bennett, Geoff Mohr, Andrew Cox-Goodyer, Daniel Roozendaal, Ethan Petterwood
Tigers: Tim Peterson, Marcus Davies, McKenzie Willis
Western Storm: Jay Blackberry, Cody Thorpe, Glenn Dawson, Will Hanson, Jobi Harper

2015 Staff
Chairman of Selectors: Mathew Armstrong
Head Coach: Brett Geappen
Line/Assistant Coaches: Zane Littlejohn, Adam Henley, Nick Paine
Bench Coach: Mitch Hills
Opposition Analysis: Aaron Cornelius
Rehab / Fitness: Sam Yee
Head Trainer: Dennis Bird
Managers: Wayne Povey, Tim Cocker

Training Schedule
Wednesday 20th May, Blundstone Arena, 5.30pm
Wednesday 27th May, Windsor Park, 5.30pm
Tuesday 2nd June, Aurora Stadium, 5.30pm
Friday 5th June, North Hobart Oval, 5.00pm

Game Details
Sunday 7th June, Moreton Bay Sporting Complex, 3.45pm