Finals Week 1: Results

Tasmanian State League

2015 Qualifying Final: BURNIE v NORTH LAUNCESTON

Burnie                                  15.14.104
North Launceston            13.10.88

Burnie: K. Harman 3, D. Smith 2, H. Walters 2, J. Laycock 2, N. Walters, R. Grenville, T. Morrison, N. McKenna, B. Knight, R. Barrett
North Launceston: B. Cox-Goodyer 3, A. O’Sign 3, T. Bennett 2, M. Walsh 2, Z. Burt, W. McBride, G. Mohr

Burnie: N. Walters, H. Walters, C. Riley, D. Smith, D. Banham, K. Harman
North Launceston: J. Foon, D. Roozendaal, E. Petterwood, J. Avent, A. Cox-Goodyer, T. Whitford

Report: Burnie made use of kicking with a good breeze in the first quarter, booting 5.5 to 0.1 to set the tone early in this Qualifying Final. They then kicked 4 goals against the breeze in the 2nd quarter to 3, which proved decisive in the context of the game. Harry & Nick Walters were dominant early and continued to provide solid defensive pressure, with Harry getting on the scoreboard to really lay the foundations for a Burnie victory. Kyle Harman was also fantastic for Burnie, proving a huge headache, booting 3 goals and making use of the opportunities he created. To North’s credit, they fought back in the 2nd half, lead by Jay Foon and Daniel Roozendaal, getting to within 2 kicks of the lead, with the ever reliable Ethan Petterwood missing a kickable snap for goal in the middle of the 4th, one of the many chances the Bombers had to steal the game away from Burnie. The Dockers never gave up and held on for the win.


2015 Elimination Final: LAUDERDALE v DEVONPORT

Sat, 29th August – 2:00pm at Blundstone Arena

Lauderdale                  13.8.86
Devonport                    7.8.50

Lauderdale: B. Halton 3, N. Dodge 3, R. McManus 2, M. Cassidy, J. Dunham, T. Boscott, K. Waller, B. Walsh
Devonport: N. Pearce 2, L. Keep, A. McNab, N. Rataj, T. Gavralas, B. Deverell

Lauderdale: E. Stanley, J. Siggins, W. Tate Turvey, A. Duggan, I. Franks, B. Walsh
Devonport: B. Symmons, S. McCrossen, P. Crowden, N. Rataj, S. Douglas, S. Hess

Report: Another contest where the winner held the opposition goalless in the first quarter, this time with Lauderdale putting the clamps on the Magpies, leading at the first break 3.2 to 0.0. The Bombers defensive pressure and structure was fantastic during the whole match, restricting Devonport to 7 goals for game. Bryce Walsh was best on ground, finding some much needed form and consistency. Backmen Siggins, Adam Duggan and Edward Stanley were also fantastic in making it hard for Devonport to pose a threat on the scoreboard. For the Magpies, they certainly never stopped trying, with Nathan Rataj and Brad Symmons doing their best to get into them into the game. They’ll certainly be better for it after tasting finals again for the first time since 2010 and will be a tough proposition come this time in 2016.



Development League

Qualifying Final

Sun, 30th August – 11:30am


Aurora Stadium

Clarence                             13.9.87
North Launceston           3.10.28

Clarence: C. Alcorso 3, A. Grace 2, M. Blackburn 2, L. Murfitt-Cowen 2, A. Silver, B. Hay, L. Adams, O. Di Venuto
North Launceston: J. Moore 3

Clarence: J. Wylie, O. Di Venuto, J. Harper, R. Bones, O. Rand, K. Wylie
North Launceston: W. Loone, J. Hawkins, N. McLachlan, L. Venn, K. Curtis, W. Fisher


Elimination Final

Sat, 29th August – 11:30am


Blundstone Arena

Lauderdale                  12.9.81
Hobart City                  5.10.40

Lauderdale: R. Wiggins 7, S. Watson 2, S. Long, A. Woodhead, B. Pace
Hobart City: J. Bastick 2, J. Miller, J. Williamson, J. McCulloch

Lauderdale: S. Long, S. Hill, N. Sullivan, A. Morton, R. Wiggins
Hobart City: J. McCulloch, B. Johnston, A. Lockett, J. Miller, S. Duigan, J. Bastick


– Neale Atkins 

Don’t forget to download our free TSL App, featuring live scores of all Finals Matches (including Development League). Available on Android, Apple and Windows Phone.

Love your Social Media? Make sure you follow the TSL on Twitter (@TasStateLeague), Instagram (@tasmanianstateleague) and Facebook (